Reflection ♯3: Project “Red Chases Blue” part 2

After the development of the idea, I started to draw some ideas of the characters appearance. My process usually consist in first, with a completely developed idea in my mind, sketch some quick drawings without having taken any reference more than that I had already in my head. In that way I have an almost pure concept done by myself without it being corrupted with others work, I think that in this way it will be more original.  Second, I start collecting references from several internet sources like deviant art, google images, youtube, polycount and cg society. In this case my main focus was Oriental-Arabic concepts for both characters taking Prince of Persia (Ubisoft Montreal, 2008) and Assassin’s Creed Chronicles (Climax Studios, 2015) as oriental references and  Steampunk-Orcs references from Warhammer 40k (Games Workshop, 1987) for the red character behaviour, technology and appearance.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Third, I take those things that have drawn my attention, evaluate if they are compatible with my concept and, if they are, I try to adapt them to my character making as much modification as possible to maintain the originality.


After having developed the base concept art of my characters I started to create several dressing options for the characters, taking into account that the red race will be several individuals that would dress differently and also, the main character has to have a very stylized and appealing looking as it is going to be always on screen and maybe it will change cloths at some point in the game.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When I finished, I decided which would be the main cloths for both characters. In the case of blue it would be a combination of two designs (1 and 2) taking the bottom part (pants and accessories of the legs) as well as the wristbands and tattoos of 1 and the belt, top and armband of 2. For the red characters I chose 3 as basic character and 1, 5 and 6 as special characters being tougher or having special attacks.

Having the concept done, I started to develop the 3D work.

First, As I had references of how exactly I wanted my model, I draw a turnaround of the characters so I had the front and the side of both characters.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Afterwards, I made two perpendicular planes in Maya where I put each one of the drawings keeping in mind the proportions. With the reference placed I started to model the body with the box-modelling technique and using the poly-by-poly technique to create the face. I used the same process for both characters.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

During all the process when I had any doubt on how to proceed I looked this tutorial made by James Taylor because it explain all the process in the modeling of a character for animation:

This is the final result of the assignment:

 

Conclusion

Although, I think the result is acceptable, I had some troubles working on Maya and I am not very confortable modelling characters polygon by polygon, I find it very tedious and boring.
I had some troubles connecting the head and the rest of the body due to the different numbers of polygons which made me improvise a solution by redirecting edge loops to the inside of the head, thing that may cause problems in the future due to the bad topology but, by the moment looks good. I had also some issues following the youtube tutorials I found because the author didn’t solve some problems in its mesh which made me to improvise and fix some problems on the go (almost all the problems I had were modelling the head).

I draw from this project and the methodology used in it that I have to use less time in the developing of the concept to have more time in the execution which made me not solve some problems in a better way. Also, It would be good to find some finished topology references for the head that are well executed and connects properly to the body instead of following a tutorial from the beginning to the end without knowing if the result is good enough. It’s possible that other programs more focused in the sculpting part, like Zbrush or Blender would suit me better than Maya.

 

Bibliography

James Taylor (n.d.) Maya HEAD MODELING for ANIMATION Tutorial [Online video]. Available from: <https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vhtI-vKx8YY > [Accessed 09/10/2016].

James Taylor (n.d.) Maya Bodybuilder CHARACTER MODELING Tutorial [Online video]. Available from: <https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=spi4lGxnMZg > [Accessed 09/10/2016].

Leave a Reply

