“Memory & Nostalgia”update #2

Finally, I have decided to choose Monkey Island because it is the game that brings me better memories. I used to play Monkey Island 3 with my sister and we solve the puzzles and mysteries of this great graphic adventure together. I think I beat the game at least 5 or 6 times, I loved it. The following monkey islands games (4,5,…) disappointed me a lot. They transform the game from 2D to 3D and they ruined game in the process. I think they could have made a good 3D game but I consider that they didn’t put enough effort in the adaptation.
Monkey Island and all the point and click adventures of its time bring me a lot of good memories, they used to be my favourite type of game but they don’t do graphic adventures as before, even though Telltale Games has done a good attempt to revive the genre doing something similar with their graphic adventures but they lack of the puzzles, the difficulty and the great humour of the 80’s-90`s classics.

I will start doing some concept art about the two main characters of the game: Guybrush Threepwood, our pirate hero and LeChuck, the zombie pirate villain. I have gathered some references and my idea is to rethink the concept of the characters of the Monkey Island 3 that is the game of the saga that I played the most. For my project I had the Idea to adapt the character to the current technologies and the predominant realism of games and try to do something similar as the transformation of the Tintin comics to the big screen (“The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn”(2011)) but maybe with a more cartoonish proportions.

 

Monkey Island References:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tintin References:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

