Reflection ♯5: Project “Memory and nostalgia”

For this week’s Media Project assignment the topic it is about “Memory and Nostalgia”. In order to get some ideas and examples on how to get ideas to this project the lecturers suggested us to think in the deepest memory we had, the first we can recall. Mine was playing at nursery school with sand of different colours taken from different parts of the playground. For game art and design master’s students they also suggested to take some game that remind us our childhood or bring us good memories and make our own version of it. I decided to use this last resource and gather some games that not only I remember as good games but also had some memory associated to them.
I took Simon the Sorcerer (Adventure Soft, 1993), it was one of the earliest games I recall to play, The curse of Monkey Island (LucasArts, 1997), which I first time played with my sister and replayed it lots of times, and Baldur’s Gate (BioWare, 1998), which was my first contact with role playing games which I love since then, and Grim Fandango (LucasArts, 1998), the last graphic adventure I really enjoyed playing (I used to play almost only graphic adventures). From this list I chose Monkey Island because was the one which I had the fondest memories about.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’d started gathering some references about the characters and the different games of the saga instead of doing my own sketches first because, as the project is redoing or reconcepting a character game that already exist I thought was better to start from the source.
I decided to give the design of the characters a realistic approach to try bringing it to a more present graphic style, I took the 3D animated Tintin film, the adventures of Tintin (Steven Spielberg, 2011) as reference on how a 2D character becomes a realistic 3D one. Nevertheless, I decided to maintain some cartoonish features like proportions and  stylized design.

I draw the concept art of the two main characters, the hero, Guybrush Threepwood using the The curse of Monkey Island design and the villain, LeChuck, this last one using the design of Monkey Island 2: LeChuck’s Revenge (LucasArts, 1991) with a more frightening, zombify and evil looking but maintaining the essence of the character.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The result of the concept art:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I decided to continue using Zbrush to try to get better with it but, this time starting with a high poly 3D modelled character to try getting more definition. In order to do that, I used the character “Blue” I already had from the “red chases blue” project as base because both characters share a slender body and cartoonish look. First, I modified the model in Maya to adjust the ears and head shape. Then I imported the obj. file to Zbrush and started modelling it in a more realistic way and approaching the design to my concept of Guybrush Threepwood. During the process I followed the tutorial on Faolinfalalay’s youtube channel to learn how to create cloths in Zbrush with Panel Loops.

Sculpting process:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After modelling the cloths I used Polypaint to paint the character in Zbrush trying to use different materials (like sketchToyPlastic for the eyes, MatCap skin05 for the skin, etc.)  and using different hue to bring up life to the face and hands, using red and orange to colour the forehead, nose, lips, cheeks and knuckles. I also used more bright colours on the borders and protrusions to give more sense of depth on the whole. I Used Premiere (Adobe) for the postproduction and “Introduction & Main Titles” of The Curse of Monkey Island (Lucas Arts) as background music.

This is the final result:

Conclusion
I like the result of the project, it was a good idea to start the modelling with a model previously worked on Maya. Nevertheless, I still have some problems getting all the resolution I need to create parts like the cloth with all their folds and creases, having to increase too much the subdivisions to an extreme that the computer struggled to hold it. I think that would be good idea to give it a chance and study how DynaMesh works since I know it is related to give a sculpting approach to the modelling process giving more resolution in some way. It would be interesting to study it in depth in future projects.

 

Bibliography

faolinfalalay (n.d.) Creating Clothes & Armor With Panel Loops in Zbrush [Online video]. Available from: <https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hGqMYhueyLc > [Accessed 22 /10/2016].

Leave a Reply

