Project Development 03

In order to prepare the body for detailing  I had to Remesh it. First of all I duplicate the body subtool to be able to projet the detail on the remeshed object. As some of the details didnt keep its shape, like the holes, or the flow didnt follow properly the model shape  I used the ZremesherGuide brush to define some flows on the surface. In this way I have been able to get more detail droping the polycount down and getting better edge flows that respect better the animation edge loops. Once I draw all the Zremesher guides I used Zremesher with a very low polygon count. Using the high detailed model I started projecting and dividing the mesh step by step to get the detail back to the subdivided model. With this process finished I was able to start the detailing part of the process.

First I started using the Standard brush to create big wrinkles along all the body, respecting those parts that are hard or polished like the forehead shells. this processes are very tedious and time consuming so I started watching Zbrush talks of the last Zbrush Summit while I was working. After complete the big wringles I started to define them with the inflate and dam standard brushes. Following the same process I did the medium wrinkles and the small wrinkles. in order to create the skin feeling I also created perpendicular wrinkles wit dam standard with a very small brush size. Having the wrinkles finished I started to create bums and pimples all over the skin using Alpha 35 that is a circular smothed alpha. I also modified the lazy step to create more distance between pimples and doing random and short strokes i went through all the body.

In order to create the pores I found a very interesting alpha and tutorial done by David Biggs that explain how to use it. I modified the brush by setting the rotation of the brush and the size and intensity of it depending on the pencil pressure.

 

In order to create the more bony look of the horns, jaw and hip plate I used the same alfa modifing the size, decreasing the lazy step, and alternating zadd and zsub modes to create a more coarse surface.

Finally, I used Claybuildup, Dam standard and Trym dynamic brushes in order to create the damage on the skin and the armor and shells.

I have also retopologized and projected the other subtools using the already explained method.

 

Bibliography:

David Biggs (n.d.) Zbrush Pores Brush [Online video]. Available from: < https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Btaqyl7CZxQ > [Accessed 06 June 2017].

Leave a Reply

